IBD

Working with IBD

IbraKPatient
March 22, 2022 in IBD

How do you deal with work having IBD? What sort of solutions have you been able to find with your teams to make things work during a flare-up or high fatigue day?

Have any of you made the jump to working remotely or freelance full-time?

1 - 4 of 4 Replies

• KatelynPatient

I've worked full-time since 2015 (prior to that, I was a student). I think the important thing is communication -- I've talked to my bosses early on about my IBD and what it means to me. I've worked with them to figure out how I can come up with creative solutions to make sure I can balance my work and my IBD. I thankfully have a desk job (I'm an analyst), so it's pretty easy for me to do my work whenever and wherever, which has meant a lot of flexibility from my bosses with working from home. That has been a tremendous godsend on days when I'm really not feeling well or am really tired. Eliminating a commute, the need to dress up, and the ability to lie down for 15 minutes when I need to rest is a huge help on a bad day. I always made a point not to abuse any of the privileges and work hard when I'm at my best, which I think has gotten me a lot of leeway when I need it.

I'm now a permanent remote worker. In 2020, my husband got a new job in a state clear across the country (we lived in Michigan and now live in California). I asked my job if I could continue to work for the team from California, and they gave me the green light. It's been great for me from an IBD perspective. I really don't stress at all about my health because I'm in the comfort of my own home all day long. Definitely recommend it for anyone who has the ability to make it work and can be productive in a home office.